✦LodestoneEldercare Guide — point toward true help

Where to start › When a parent moves in › The alphabet soup

The alphabet soup

Every caregiving book says the same thing: reach out to community resources. What the books leave out is what reaching out looks like on a Tuesday afternoon. Agencies whose names are just letters. A screening that asks for papers you have never heard of. And a waiting list at the end of it. This page explains the letters once, and tells you which door opens the others.

About the research we removed

Until recently this page opened by telling you that research shows caregivers treat the hunt for help as a second unpaid job, and that real, paid-for help goes unused because families run out of steam along the way. Both sentences pointed to a 2025 paper we could not open. So we cannot tell you who it studied, what it measured, or if it really says that.

What still stands without a study is how the system is set up, which is laid out below, and one piece of federal wording. The Administration for Community Living says resource centers exist to deal with the frustration older adults, people with disabilities and family members feel when they try to learn about long-term care services and get to them.[3] The government built a program whose stated purpose is how hard the other programs are to use. That is not a statistic, but it is not nothing.

The system, explained once

  • AAA — Area Agency on Aging. A public or non-profit agency picked by the state to look after the needs of older people in one area: a city, one county, or several counties. Its job is to line up and offer services that keep people in their own homes, such as meals brought to the home and help with housework.[1] Here is a real example, since it is hard to phone an idea. The Area Agency on Aging at the Central Savannah River Area Regional Commission in Augusta, Georgia lists these: the waiver program for elderly and disabled people; legal help for elders; home and community based services for people 60 and over and their caregivers; meal services; and personal care services, including emergency response, respite and help with housework.[5] Every region has an agency doing this job. What each one offers is local.
  • ADRC — Aging and Disability Resource Center (called a Connection in some states). ACL describes four jobs: tell people what choices exist, give fair information and counseling, help people make an informed choice, and help them get into public and private programs — at all income levels.[3] It is often the same phone call as the agency above. ACL says contact details for many ADRCs are in the Eldercare Locator. Note the word "many": not every area has one.[3]
  • NFCSP — the National Family Caregiver Support Program. Federal money just for caregivers, for five kinds of help: information; help getting services; counseling, support groups and training; respite care; and a small amount of other help. Four groups of caregivers qualify, including anyone caring for a person of any age with Alzheimer's disease.[2] You do not apply to it directly. The money goes to states and territories, based on each state's share of people aged 70 and over. From there it goes to local programs that decide who they take first.[2] That is why the only question that gets a useful answer is what this agency pays for.
  • HCBS waiver — home and community based services. The state Medicaid program that pays for care at home in place of care in a facility. Services can include a case manager, help with housework, a home health aide, personal care, adult day health and respite. To qualify, a person must need enough care that they would qualify for a facility. And the state sets the most people a waiver will serve.[6] That limit is where waiting lists come from. It is the reason to apply before the need is desperate, not after. Who pays for care shows where waivers fit with the other money.

Notice the pattern: almost every road leads back to the Area Agency on Aging. You do not have to learn the whole soup. You need one good talk with someone whose job is knowing how it works where you live.

Getting through the maze

  • Let one call point the way. Start at the Eldercare Locator: 1-800-677-1116, open Monday to Friday, 8am to 9pm Eastern, or eldercare.acl.gov. Say plainly what is going on: who you care for, what is hardest, what you think you need.[4] It is a referral service. It gives you the right agency, not a decision.
  • Put the papers together once. The screenings ask for the same things: income, insurance, diagnoses, medicines. Put them in one folder, and every application after the first goes faster. It is almost the same folder described in the accidental nurse.
  • Ask about waiting lists on the first call, not the third. Each state sets how many people its waiver serves, so your place in line is often what matters most.[6] Applying costs nothing and holds your place.
  • Ask the question you do not know to ask. End any call with a counselor with this: "What do families in my situation qualify for that they usually do not know to ask about?" The answer is the reason to talk to a person and not a website.
  • Then go local. Every state page on this site lists its own agencies. Who helps me locally links all 51.

Quick answers

What is an Area Agency on Aging and what does it do?

An Area Agency on Aging is a public or non-profit agency picked by a state to look after the needs of older people in one area: a city, a county, or a group of counties. Its job is to line up and offer services that help older adults stay in their own homes, such as meals brought to the home and help with housework. Reach your local one through the Eldercare Locator at 1-800-677-1116, Monday to Friday, 8am to 9pm Eastern. What any one agency pays for, who qualifies and what it costs are local questions. Ask them on that first call. [1, 2]

Why is it so hard to find help as a family caregiver?

Partly because the help really is split across separate programs with separate rules. There is an Area Agency on Aging picked by the state. There is a federal caregiver support program run through the states. There is an information and counseling center. And there is a state Medicaid waiver with its own care-level test and its own limit on how many people it serves. The federal government itself names the problem. The Administration for Community Living says resource centers exist to deal with the frustration older adults and families feel when they try to learn about long-term care services and get to them. What we cannot tell you from a study is how many families give up along the way. That claim used to be on this page, and we took it out. [3, 5, 6]

What free services exist for family caregivers?

The National Family Caregiver Support Program pays for five kinds of help: information; help getting services; one-on-one counseling, support groups and training; respite care; and a small amount of other help. It covers adult family members caring for someone 60 or over, people caring for someone of any age with Alzheimer's disease, and some older relatives caring for children or for adults aged 18 to 59 with disabilities. The money goes to states and territories and then to local programs, which decide who they take first. So ask the local agency what it really pays for. [2]

Sources and what they support

Sources checked 2026-09-23 using AI-assisted editorial research. This is a source check, not benefits advice.

  1. ACL, Area Agencies on Aging. Supports the definition — a public or private non-profit agency designated by a state to address the needs of older persons at regional and local level — the planning and service area as a city, single county or multi-county district, the coordinating role, and the home-delivered meals and homemaker examples. The page describes what agencies do; it does not state that every American address falls inside one, and it does not promise a given service, price or waiting time anywhere.
  2. ACL, National Family Caregiver Support Program. Supports the five funded service categories, the four eligible caregiver groups including caregivers of a person of any age with Alzheimer's disease, the flow of grants to states and territories, and the allocation by each state's share of the population aged 70 and over. Local programmes set intake and priorities, so this establishes what may be funded rather than what a family will receive.
  3. ACL, Aging and Disability Resource Centers. Supports the stated purpose — addressing the frustration older adults, people with disabilities and family members experience trying to learn about and access long-term services and supports — the four functions, the all-income-levels wording, and the phrasing that contact information for many ADRCs can be found through the Eldercare Locator. "Many" is ACL's word; the page establishes no universal coverage, and it is a statement of purpose, not evidence about how many families are frustrated or give up.
  4. ACL, Eldercare Locator. Supports that the Locator is a public service of the Administration for Community Living, the 1-800-677-1116 number, and the staffed hours of Monday to Friday, 8am to 9pm Eastern. A referral route only: it does not screen eligibility or reserve a service.
  5. CSRA Regional Commission, Area Agency on Aging (Augusta, Georgia). Supports the example service list: elderly and disabled waiver programme, elderly legal assistance for adults 60 and over, home and community based services for people 60 and over and their caregivers, nutrition services, personal care services including emergency response, respite and homemaker help, and ADRC services. One region's menu on one date, included to show the shape of an agency's offer — not a national list, and not a statement about eligibility or availability in that region.
  6. Medicaid.gov, Home and Community Based Services 1915(c). Supports that waivers exist so people can receive long-term services in their home or community rather than an institution, the example services including case management, homemaker, home health aide, personal care, adult day health, habilitation and respite, the requirement that a person need the level of care that would meet the state's institutional eligibility, and that states choose the maximum number of people a waiver will serve. The page establishes the participant cap; it does not itself discuss waiting lists, so the queue described here is what a cap implies rather than a figure the source gives.

Removed in this pass: the research framing around resource-hunting as a documented second unpaid job and the claim that funded help goes unused because families run out of steam, both of which rested on a 2025 paper we could not open; "every address in America is covered by one," which ACL does not state; the description of an ADRC as the "no wrong door" intake arm of the area agency; and "through every Area Agency on Aging," which overstates how caregiver-support money reaches a household.

← Back to When a parent moves in